Author Topic: PVL chest holster review  (Read 476 times)

Texashogman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
PVL chest holster review
« on: July 22, 2017, 12:20:35 PM »
So here is a pic of the chest holster for my 6" Double stack 10mm 1911 (ria 52000)


Let me remind you I am the guinea pig on this holster for him and his customer service is TOP notch .

This holster is for factory sights/ iron sights only...if you have optics or reflex sights youll have to go with another company as currently PVL does not offer options for optics or reflex cutouts.

Gordon from paradise valley leather has been great getting this holster to fit just right as he has not done one yet for this gun..it is a quality leather chest holster for a great price. It has a nice tight fit on the pistol and on my chest....the pistol can easily be drawn with 1 hand and the gun does not flop around at all.

On my prototype-the muzzle protrudes about 1/16" so he is adjusting his pattern just a bit to lengthen it for further sales for a perfect fit... the rear oversize target sight rubs on the holster just a bit so once again he is adjusting his pattern for a perfect fit

Right now, this model sells for $110 on his web site and the extra mag pouch is a $35 add on...the mag pouch can be inverted for "bottom drop" if you like or moved to the waist belt for horrizontal retreival. The nylon web harness is fully adjustable with plenty of extra length for fitting over excess clothing or extra "meat" on your body--- read that as spare tire- beer belly.  The leather holster is TOP quality!!! One of the nice things about the nylon harness (over other companies leather harness) is 1st- it's easily replaceable, 2nd easily adjustable, 3rd sits flat under the shoulder straps of a backpack for no "hot spots", 4th IF you choose to remove the holster then the harness/holster fold flat for storage in your pack or truck (unlike a leather harness)

Keep in mind that currently he does not make modifications for lasers or optics so these holsters are for iron sights only.

The holster is a nice fit and doesn't seem to shift when carrying. It will be my "field holster" from now on when ever I hunt.

I would definitely recomend this for anyone considering a chest holster for field use. My pic below shows that even with a full frame pack, you can comfortably wear this chest rig without it interfering with the fit/function of your pack.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2017, 06:38:43 PM by Texashogman »
RIA 52000, PVL chest holster, Montana 200WFN

5 dollars waiting on 5 cents

Texashogman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: PVL chest holster review
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2017, 06:45:43 PM »
So here is a pic of the chest holster for my 6" Double stack 10mm 1911 (ria 52000)


Let me remind you I am the guinea pig on this holster for him and his customer service is TOP notch .

This holster is for factory sights/ iron sights only...if you have optics or reflex sights youll have to go with another company as currently PVL does not offer options for optics or reflex cutouts.

Gordon from paradise valley leather has been great getting this holster to fit just right as he has not done one yet for this gun..it is a quality leather chest holster for a great price. It has a nice tight fit on the pistol and on my chest....the pistol can easily be drawn with 1 hand and the gun does not flop around at all.

On my prototype-the muzzle protrudes about 1/16" so he is adjusting his pattern just a bit to lengthen it for further sales for a perfect fit... the rear oversize target sight rubs on the holster just a bit so once again he is adjusting his pattern for a perfect fit

Right now, this model sells for $110 on his web site and the extra mag pouch is a $35 add on...the mag pouch can be inverted for "bottom drop" if you like or moved to the waist belt for horrizontal retreival. The nylon web harness is fully adjustable with plenty of extra length for fitting over excess clothing or extra "meat" on your body--- read that as spare tire- beer belly.  The leather holster is TOP quality!!! One of the nice things about the nylon harness (over other companies leather harness) is 1st- it's easily replaceable, 2nd easily adjustable, 3rd sits flat under the shoulder straps of a backpack for no "hot spots", 4th IF you choose to remove the holster then the harness/holster fold flat for storage in your pack or truck (unlike a leather harness)

Keep in mind that currently he does not make modifications for lasers or optics so these holsters are for iron sights only.

The holster is a nice fit and doesn't seem to shift when carrying. It will be my "field holster" from now on when ever I hunt.

I would definitely recomend this for anyone considering a chest holster for field use. My pic below shows that even with a full frame pack, you can comfortably wear this chest rig without it interfering with the fit/function of your pack.
Well, Gordon from paradisevalleyleather.com is great.

He modified his design so my holster fits perfect now. Nice tight fit on my chest, gun draws smooth and quick with 1 hand but is still tight and secure with the hammer strap in the holster!!!

Gordon also took my idea of a rear belt strap to keep a heavy gun like mine from sliding down in front.

Top notch customer service, 2 thumbs up, 5 stars for the fit/finish/quality of this chest holster and extra mag pouch.

I would recomend this chest holster to anyone looking for a nice quality, comfortable woods carry holster option.

FYI, I am not affiliated with PVL in any way, nor compensated for this review...Gordon just makes a great chest holster.

If you are interested but don't see your model listed, make sure to contact Gordon to see if he can help you out.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2017, 04:54:32 PM by Texashogman »
RIA 52000, PVL chest holster, Montana 200WFN

5 dollars waiting on 5 cents

Spudmeister

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: PVL chest holster review
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2017, 09:03:15 PM »
Thank you so much for the review. I've been looking for a chest holster for my G40 that does not ride too high and angles enough to keep the long barrel from sticking me when bending over.  Still have not decided if I want to put an RMR on the gun (probably not but I keep bouncing back and forth) but this one seems the best so far.

Please report back after a while of using it.  I am impressed so far.

Texashogman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: PVL chest holster review
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2017, 05:49:07 AM »
Thank you so much for the review. I've been looking for a chest holster for my G40 that does not ride too high and angles enough to keep the long barrel from sticking me when bending over.  Still have not decided if I want to put an RMR on the gun (probably not but I keep bouncing back and forth) but this one seems the best so far.

Please report back after a while of using it.  I am impressed so far.

since I took the pic I actually moved the spare mag holder to the right side/horizontal portion of the strap so that I can position the holster a bit higher on my chest, feals better sitting a bit higher and I can now access the spare mag much easier with my left hand if needed

RIA 52000, PVL chest holster, Montana 200WFN

5 dollars waiting on 5 cents

Texashogman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: PVL chest holster review
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2017, 04:52:09 PM »
So here is the pic now that Gordon tweaked the design for a slightly better fit.
Note I have also moved the mag pouch to the horizontal strap vs the vertical strap for better access with my left hand. You'll see it fits well with my day pack too.

2nd pic is of the rear belt loop suggestion that I gave to Gordon ---- this belt strap keeps my 4 pound gun/spare mag from sliding down in front when I walk the trails.

Love it, recomend this comfortable chest holster to anyone looking for woods carry (but I think I  said that part already )


« Last Edit: August 15, 2017, 04:56:13 PM by Texashogman »
RIA 52000, PVL chest holster, Montana 200WFN

5 dollars waiting on 5 cents